Small Things

I believe God heals people because I’ve seen Him do it.  I believe he releases persecuted people from prison because it’s happened to friends of friends.  He does big things, and I know that he does small sweet things, too.  So why am I always surprised when he blesses me in the most minute ways?

I’m trying to adjust to life in the US.  One of the things that’s been hard for me to deal with is the difficulty of finding clothes to wear that don’t make me feel uncomfortable.  I wore kurtas in India, long, blouse-like tunics that hit about three inches above my knees.  They’re beautiful, hide everything, and feel uber-feminine.  I liked them.  Ok, not the orange, paisley ones with silver sequins, but most I loved.

Since our return to the States I’ve not been able to make myself wear shorts.  Not that I think shorts are bad.  I just can’t make myself do it.  I trust I don’t need to reiterate my issues with swimsuits.  Even little t-shirts make me feel weird.  So I was hoping that today I could go shopping with my sister and find tops that would be pretty and make me feel comfortable in my skin again.

But wait!  Plot complication alert.  I hate shopping, and we don’t have a lot of money.  And we had my sister’s 2.5 year old with us.  And I had a short window of time before picking my kids up from music camp.  It was a dicey hope at best.

I had $100, 1.5 hours, and a ridiculous sinking feeling to bring to today’s outing.  But what I left the store with were 7 American-style kurtas (!), three pairs of earrings, and the ridiculous exhilaration of someone who spent $99.54 with tax.

It’s not a big thing.  It’s small, I know.  But then I also know how it was a direct blessing from the Lord; how today he reminded me, yet again, that he cares about small things, too.

4 thoughts on “Small Things

  1. Aileen says:

    LOVE Kurtas! Excited for your success!

    1 Peter 5:7

    Casting all your cares on Him because He does the caring for you! (my paraphrase of “casting all your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you.”)

    Like

  2. thegereckes says:

    love this. and I think it’s funny because I’m trying to pack MORE modestly to return to the states…in Europe, we get MORE comfortalbe in our skin 😉 love you and am glad God provided!

    Like

  3. The orange paisley kurtas with the silver sequins are totally my favorite ones 🙂 haha!

    I have the same problem when I’m in the states 🙂 People always thought it was weird that I wore leggings under all my dresses last time we were there 🙂 haha! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

