Crawling to Conclusions

It’s been a week since I posted anything on this blog.  My week of no blogging went something like this:

Day 1:  Wow.  This was the right thing to do.  I’m so sad.  There’s so much to say.  Poor, poor me.  Look at what I’m not writing…

Day 2:  New stuff to write, but not gonna do it.  I have plenty of things to do that have nothing to do with writing.  See?  Isn’t it so much more peaceful and private to keep all the funny/bizarre/inspirational things rolling around in your head firmly where they belong–in your head?

Day 3:  Blog?  What blog?  I’m such a good mom.

Day 4:  I used to have a blog, but that was a long time ago.  Nowadays I’m just focusing on what really matters–the size of my hips.

Day 5:  I actually like not having a blog.  Maybe Husband doesn’t like it as much since he is now my blog, but still…

Day 6:  I care too much about what other people think of me, my choices, my life, my kids.  This is wrong.  No, it’s more than that.  It’s sinful.  It makes much of people’s opinions, and it makes little of God’s.  I want to care most about what God says about my life, what He thinks.  What everyone else thinks should matter way less.  Way.

Day 7:  I might not go back to blogging, ever.  I like privacy.  Plus, I’ve spent my time better since I let it go.

Day 8:  What if I quit everything in my life that has idol potential?  Like, say, eating.  Or homeschooling my kids, or caring about my appearance, or reading, cleaning my house, answering e-mails, playing my cello, learning Spanish.  What would it look like if I bailed on all of those things?  That might be bad.

Today:  Ok.  So for now, I’m just going to keep blogging, keep eating, keep taking showers and keep practicing Spanish verbs.  But I’m going to try not to care too much about any of those things.  Because, at the end of the day, only one thing really matters, and that is, What does Jesus think about my life?

2 thoughts on “Crawling to Conclusions

  1. I’m glad you are back. I appreciate how real you are. In a world full of blogs of people putting on airs and setting unbelievable standards I will never be able to meet, I appreciate your refreshing take on life. You encourage me in my walk with the Lord…..does that help you any or make your head bigger???

    Like

Leave a Reply

