Oh La!

My daughter lay on my chest listening to my breathing.  I smelled the floral shampoo in her puffy, blond hair.  She’d been in trouble a moment before and this was our way of moving forward.

“Mom?” she murmured.

“Hmmm?” I thought about how these days are flying past me, faster than I can remember them.

“Mom?  I love you.  Very much.”  Her voice sounded small and sleepy.

“Well, I love you too.  Very, very much.”  I hoped she’d always say these things to me.

“So, can you speak in a French accent?” she asked, as if needing a favor.

“Uh…oui.” I didn’t hesitate.

And I think to myself, Maybe one of the things I do best for my kids is to never be surprised.

Leave a Reply

