A Year in Books

I do this every year’s end.  I list the books I’ve read as a way to “see” the previous 12 months of my life.  Sometimes they’re massive lists (like when I lived in India and reading was nearly everything to me).  Sometimes they’re skinny lists (like this year, as I’ve undertaken new job responsibilities and re-adjusted to my home culture).  At any rate it wouldn’t be the end of the year for me without my list, humble though it may be.  I do not recommend every book on this year’s list.  Some are only so-so in style and substance, and a couple are scandalous and stupid.  Most are well worth the time I spent reading them, however.  (This list does not include the books of the Bible I’ve read through this year.  That’s another list altogether).  If you have questions about any of the books you see, let me know and I’ll review them.  And now the list, in the order I read each book.

  1. Don Quixote, Miguel de Cervantes
  2. On the Road, Jack Kerouac
  3. Lady Chatterly’s Lover, D.H. Lawrence
  4. Grapes of Wrath, John Steinbeck
  5. 100 Years of Solitude, Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  6. Give Them Grace, Elyse M. Fitzpatrick
  7. Just Do Something, Kevin DeYoung
  8. Thinking, Loving, Doing, John Piper, Dave Mathis, eds.
  9. How Children Fail, John Holt
  10. God in the Dock, C.S. Lewis
  11. Classical Education Made Approachable, (author not specified)
  12. Expectations and Burnout:  Women Surviving the Great Commission, Sue Eenigenburg and Robin Bliss
  13. How the Garcia Sisters Lost Their Accents, Julia Alvarez
  14. How to Read a Book, Mortimer Adler (still working on this one!)
  15. This Is Your Brain On Joy,  Dr. Earl Henslin
  16. The Cult Explosion, Dave Hunt
  17. Mere Christianity, C.S. Lewis
  18. In the Land of Blue Burqas, Kate McCord
  19. Life of Pi, Yann Martel

To read an interview I gave about books and reading for the Daily News:

http://www.bgdailynews.com/features/sunday_reader/a-look-at-what-hannah-vanderpool-is-reading/article_0c1ff35c-407e-11e2-83ec-001a4bcf887a.html

What about you?  What did you read this year?  Do have any suggestions for me?

Leave a Reply

