Little Changes in 2015 to Minimize Resistance

It’s January, as if you didn’t know.  I’m hopeful, as is always the case at this time of the year, and one reason is because I’m satisfied with how December went down. The kids liked their presents, we went to concerts and church programs, hung out with friends, helped people, and spent time together watching whodunnit movies.  I sat by the fire, ate quality chocolate, and listened to Christmas music until I stopped liking it.

It was good.

Furthermore, I stand by my decision not to do a lick of school with the kids for the entire month.  See, I hadn’t really planned it, but we ended up having eighteen, yes, eighteen overnight guests in the month of December.  This is crazy-sausage, especially for someone who’s an introvert.  But it happened.  And, the thing is, it was wonderful, better than I could have imagined.  It wouldn’t have been, however, if I’d had a lot of cherished plans that kept getting way-laid.  In that case, I would have been excessively crabby.  As it happened, I was only normally crabby.

Now, on to January:  Long ago I gave up on making big, sweeping goals for the new year.  It’s not that I don’t hope certain things will happen in the next twelve months, or that I don’t see the need for improvement in some of my habits.  It’s just that I don’t make big changes very successfully unless utterly forced.  Which sometimes happens, but still.  So I make little changes, or try to, and I sneak them into my life so that my subconscious barely notices.  I don’t start implementing them all on January 1st.  Instead, I add one at a time, little by little, all through the months of January and February, or for as long as it takes to make them habits.  This way, it feels like I deal with less Resistance.

Some of my little goals for 2015 include (in no particular order)

  • A little bit of (boring, so boring) exercise, every day.  Not just because of the thigh issue and the thirty-seven years old thing but because I struggle with depression.  Exercise helps.
  •  Getting up one hour earlier–which is to say, early, period–so that I can get in more time to write before I start the school day with my kids.
  •  Being nicer to the kids.  Specifically, I’m going to work on praising something about each of them at least once a day.  I forget to, with all the teachery correcting I do, but it seems to make such a difference when they hear me say something complimentary.
  •  Reading my Bible more consistently, with (hopefully) deeper concentration.  Gonna try not to find myself at the end of a chapter with no idea how I got there.
  • Finally, (a few of my writing goals are still in formation), posting more consistently on the blog.

That’s it.  No marathons, no enormous reading lists, or herculean educational efforts with the kids.  No more goals at all, in fact, unless someone drugs me and performs a lobotomy.

What about you?  Do you make small, medium, or large goals for the new year?  Or none at all? 

6 thoughts on “Little Changes in 2015 to Minimize Resistance

  1. Heather says:

    Thank you for letting us be seven of your eighteen house guests. Our long, crazy, all-over the place conversation was so very good for my soul. Your last resolution – schedule time to come to Louisville. xoxoxoxo

    Like

  2. I don’t make resolutions on January 1st because I find the calendar so arbitrary. Sure, we’ve been using it since the Romans (or earlier?), but it’s still just a frame overlaying the natural order of things. In particular, the ‘new year’ seems oddly placed; it would make more sense to start over on a solstice or equinox, don’t you think? Perhaps I feel the freedom to do this because my birthday is in February, and I find that day to be much more significant–a concrete occasion on which to goal-set and consider my life. (Although the only way I can recognize my birthday is by using the Roman calendar, so . . .)

    Nonetheless, good thoughts. Small changes are more lasting for me, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. danawilson says:

    Hi Hannah,
    I like your tongue-in-cheek approach to making positive changes –little changes made consistently end up actually more effective than a big list of bigger than life New Year’s Resolutions. Thanks for posting.

    Like

    • That’s my philosophy! I hope it’s true, and even if it isn’t, I just can’t make major changes stick–especially if I have too many of them going at once.

      Like

Leave a Reply

