Finding the Courage to Go Slow

In our big, loud, fast-is-better culture it’s sometimes hard to go slow.  With creative pursuits, however, forcing oneself to move at the speed of thought, giving oneself the space to stare off in the middle distance and wait occasionally, is invaluable, and allows an artist a better shot at actually liking what he or she creates in the end.

Today, I’m over at Southern Writers and I’m discussing something dear to my heart, slow writing, and how it’s changing the way I do life in general.

“…I used to write as if I were shoplifting, stealing moments in the bathroom or in my bedroom, with the door locked. Every minute in which I managed to wrangle thoughts into words uninterrupted felt like a piece of sparkly merchandise hidden under my coat…”

Read the rest here.

Leave a Reply

