On Bearing Burdens

keep-calm-and-mother-on-3

I woke up this morning with a whirling mind and bruised heart so that it felt like I hadn’t slept at all last night.

My mood further plummeted when it dawned on me that I wouldn’t be able to mull over what’s burdening me in order to mentally work it out.  I’m a writer and a teacher and I have to be emotionally present and alert to do my job(s) well.  And these weighty thoughts are like mental sludge in my brain pipes.

So what will I do in the next eighteen hours?

I’ll pray every time the heavy thoughts come up today.  Like a ninja.  My problems are beyond me, but not God.

I’ll make a list of the things I have to accomplish in the next several hours.

I’ll follow that list, checking things off as I get them done without trying to decide in the moment what  comes next.

I’ll listen to music when I’m not teaching or writing.  Few things focus my mind more than hearing songs and lyrics I love.

I’ll exercise at some point, even if it’s just for a few minutes.

I’ll remind myself that today will last for exactly 24 hours like its ancestors before it.  It’ll pass.  It has to.

Finally, I’ll get on with life because that’s what mothers do.

How do you cope with burdens you can’t seem to permanently offload? 

6 thoughts on “On Bearing Burdens

  1. Sometimes I put that heavy thing on my list, giving myself permission to think or write about it for a little while at some point during the day. (That’s the writing that usually never gets seen.) Any other time it pops into my mind, I very decisively give it to God. Again and again. Knowing that I WILL think about it helps me function when I can’t allow myself to think about it..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is one of the hardest things for me! I really struggle to take my mind OFF whatever is foremost on my thoughts, because it has this way of staying stuck on replay. Like you, prayer is my life-line on these days. I have also found that humor helps. I like to watch some Studio-C skits on YouTube. They always make me laugh. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

